meganfilipowski:

I think that Clayton Kershaw and Justin Verlander are both deserving of the honor to be the first $200 million dollar pitcher. They’ve done amazing things as professional athletes both on and off the field. Their ability to shut down opposing batters is bringing fans into the stands. They both have also created themselves as household names for their teams. The Dodgers can now try to make a playoff run and the Tigers can now try to finally win the World Series Ring for Mike Illitch after losing to the Giants last year.

But read the interview. It’s worthwhile.

Originally posted on HardballTalk:

Last week Justin Verlander made some headlines by saying he wanted to become baseball’s first $200 million pitcher and despite the comment coming within the context of a perfectly reasonable quote he apparently got some flak for it.

And so yesterday Verlander clarified things to Jason Beck of MLB.com:

Wouldn’t you like to be the first $200 million writer? When people ask me questions, you guys you know me, I’m honest and I talk about things. The question was posed to me: “Do you want to be the first $200 million pitcher?” Well, yeah. What kind of question is that? Of course I do. … I don’t want to be seen as the greedy guy that wants to get paid the best because, whatever. But, like I said, if the question’s posed to me, I’m honest.

If you read Verlander’s entire interview with Jeff Passan of Yahoo! Sports it’s pretty…

View original 69 more words

Leave a Reply

